Young Investigator Awards

Monetary awards are given out each year at the Annual Meeting to a select number of Young Investigators who present abstracts at the Annual SOLAS Meeting. To be considered for one of these awards, please scroll down to see the criteria required. Here is a list of past recipients:

Nitin Agarwal, MD
Jason Dickherber, MD
Yehuda Kerbel, MD
Garrett Leonard, MD
Azeem Malik, MD
Isaac Rhee, MD
Jeremy Steinberger, MD* - Awarded Best Paper & Presentation
Timothy Wang, MD
Josh Wewel, MD

Bernardo de Andrada, MD
Jakub Godzik, MD* - Awarded Best Paper & Presentation
Cory Hartman, MD
Michael Jensen, MD
Asham Khan, MD
Clinton Morgan, MD
Celene Mulholland, MD
Arpan Patel, MD
Joshua Schwind, MD
Cheri Somers, ARNP
Fady Sourial, MD
Avani Vaisnav, MD

Nitin Agarwal, MD
Konrad Bach, MD
Randall Graham, MD
Jacob Januszewski, MD
Lincoln Liow, MD
Philip Louie, MD
Erick Marigi, MD
Paul McBride, MD
Craig McMains, MD* - Awarded Best Paper & Presentation
Tom Nayar, MD
Alexander Richter, MD

Required Criteria for Consideration:

  • To be considered a Young Investigator you must be a resident, spine fellow, or practicing surgeon 1 year out of fellowship.
    • Residents and fellows must provide a letter from a Program Director or Chief confirming program affiliation and graduation date. Send to [email protected].
    • Practicing surgeons must be affiliated with an accredited spine training program.
  • Submit an abstract through the official Annual Meeting submission site.
  • Must be the primary author of the abstract AND present the abstract at the meeting.
  • Be sponsored by an Active SOLAS member who is present at the Annual SOLAS Meeting.
    • SOLAS member sponsor must register and attend the meeting and make themselves available to respond to questions.
  • Agree to stay through the length of the meeting to learn the winner of the Best Abstract Presentation.
  • Agree to take part in a Q&A and/or take part in an article to be published in the eBlasts, promotional materials, etc.
  • U.S.-based winners will be required to submit a W-9 upon receiving an award, as these monies are taxable.